Feeling For … Ragg Wool

December 9, 2008

Hermès cashmere socks and boots on the fall 2008 runway.

Bruce Pask, T Magazine’s men’s fashion director, writes on style every two weeks.

I love the cold! The switch from transitional outerwear to full-fledged cold-bearing clothes allows me to wear my long underwear (I have the perfect pair of John Bartlett charcoal gray lightweight wool long johns made by Zimmerli) and my heavy ragg wool socks. Ragg wool is a marled yarn of two different colors speckled together in a salt-and-pepperish kind of way. It usually comes in cream and beige or cream and navy, but there are plenty of other color combinations. Wigwam is probably the best-known company producing ragg wool socks, but plenty of other manufacturers offer them as well. On the higher end, or for those allergic to anything other than 10-ply cashmere, Hermès is offering an ultra-luxe, multicolored version of ragg wool in heavy socks and knit stocking caps this season — I guess we’ll have to call it ragg cashmere. I’m also a fan of ragg wool gloves, especially the fingerless knit ones, which are perfect for iPhone/cellphone dialing in the cold. Wear ragg wool on your feet, head or hands — whatever your choice, I’m feeling for it!

Read previous Feeling For posts.

11 Responses to “Feeling For … Ragg Wool”

  1. Will said

    Where can I find 10-ply cashmere, Hermès ultra-luxe, multicolored version of ragg wool in heavy socks and knit stocking caps this season?

  2. emmett said

    Love the ragg look, have you tried Smartwool? Emmett

  3. herb said

    where can I buy those boots.

  4. In Berlin, rag wool socks are very popular. People consider them part of the “new tyrolean” uniform. I wrote a brief of this trend at http://www.retailrefugees.com

  5. designstream said

    Hermès Ragg? I prefer to call it raggshmere.

  6. Michelle said

    Hi!
    Could you please tell me who makes the boots that are in this “rag wool” feature?
    Thank you so much.
    Michelle

  7. leek said

    Love the boots – who makes them? Are they waterproof/resistant?

  8. Josh said

    Hermes socks and caps can be found at Hermes NY Madison Avenue

    The boots are man’s boots – available also at Hermes

  9. noah said

    I think you need to be in a very cold climate to wear ragg wool socks without your feet getting overheated

  10. Michael said

    L.L.Bean sells very comfortable wool-blend ragg socks.

  11. sage said

    I always say, if you’re not itchy you’re not warm!

Leave a comment